RSS

Rescuer

15 Aug

My family went biking this past weekend. We had my niece with us. We biked to Chestnut Creek Falls. I love waterfalls and wanted to see them and get into the water as well. I am a water and nature fanatic, so anytime I get to see an area I haven’t explored, I get very excited. Water has always calmed my spirit as well. In front of the falls, I noticed the water looked pretty deep. So, we kept a little distance from them because both my son and my niece, cannot swim. My patient husband stayed at the shoreline taking pictures. He had on jeans and really isn’t as enthused over the water as me. He knows how much I enjoy it though and always gives me room to explore the environment. I wasn’t satisfied with standing 10 feet in front of the falls. So, I decided to go around the side of the falls and find a way to the top, to get a better view. My son and my neice were a little curious too, so they followed me. I waded waist deep to the corner of the rock. I told the kids to stay put while I checked out the climb and made sure it was going to be safe. I climbed to the area I could cross. Water rushed between a crevice and the rocks were slippery were you had to cross. I stepped carefully over the 2 ft crevice. I climbed a little further until I was on top of the waterfall. I wanted to explore more, but knew the kids were waiting for me. So, I turned back around, climbed back down, and crossed the crevice. I told them I didn’t think it was safe for them to cross the crevice. Warren wanted to see the view, so I told them ok, but you have to be careful crossing and make sure you have your footing. We’ll do it one at a time. My son stood at the crossing and with me ahead of him. I tried to instruct him exactly how to do it, but he stepped quicker than he should. He missed the other rock and his foot went into the crevice, quickly sweeping the rest of him into the fall. I quickly reached my hand out to him, grasping his left arm. The water pulled him and I had no choice but to jump into the crevice and hold on to him. The water gushed over his face and I saw he was panicking. He had his other arm braced on the side of the rock and I pulled it away so that we could let the water carry us to the bottom.
Last night when I went to bed, I replayed the incident in my head. I then felt like God was showing me that was a picture of Him with someone who lost their footing or stepped a little too quickly. It was picture of rescue, God’s grace, and mercy. God doesn’t want us to drown when we mess up. He doesn’t look down on us, shaking his head, watching us about drown in our mistakes. He simply gets down in the crevice with us, holds on to us, lets us know that it’s going to be all right, even if we feel scared and like our life is coming to an end. He rides it out with us and in the end doesn’t remind us of our mistake but celebrates the fact that we rode that wave out.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2011 in Spiritual Reflections

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
