RSS

My Growing Bookworm

12 Sep

             My son’s love for books fascinates me.  He has always been a book lover.  When he first started walking he’d toddle over to the bookshelf and spend a lot of time pulling books off the shelf and sitting amongst his pile, leafing through the pages.  His favorite books as a toddler was, “Pat the Bunny,” and “Goodnight, Moon.” Simple, but held his attention.  Many people told me, “That’ll change once he gets in school.”  I knew they were wrong.  A mother knows her child’s true interests where others don’t see it. 

                Before he started school, his favorite place to visit was the library.  He always checked out at least one Peanuts book.  And whenever we visit a bookstore, I don’t know who wants to spend the most time there, me or him.  Then when he started school, he instantly loved going to media and bringing home books once a week.  He’s always been one of the top readers in his grade.  Every week during school he brings home a pretty good size book and devours it in one week.

                My son is ten years old and I thought I’d ask him what his five favorite books are.  I kind of had an idea of what a few of them would be.  The following are the books he named and I asked him to tell me why he enjoyed reading the book.

  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series, his favorite book out of that series is “The Ugly Truth.”  He said he liked it because Greg is getting older and the book has many funny scenes in it.  His favorite is where Greg’s class is assigned to take care of an egg, like a child, and he hides it in the refrigerator so his little brother doesn’t break it.  Then, his mother ends up fixing it for breakfast the next morning. 
  • The Phantom Tollbooth”  He said it’s a great fantasy/adventure book about a kid whose bored with everything when a mysterious box appears in which he ends up in a mystical land where many crazy things happened.  He expressed to me after he finished reading it that I should read it as well.  I plan to read it, but haven’t yet.
  • Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People,” He has always been a big fan of Captain Underpants because of its crude humor.   In this book the main characters find a time machine and goes into a 2nd dimension where everything is opposite from norm.
  • Shiloh” In this story a poor kid finds what he thinks is a stray dog.  Then discovers the dog’s owner is abusive to the dog.  So the kid goes to great measures to obtain the dog from the owner.
  • Holes” He said this is a funny, yet weird book about a kid who gets wrongly accused of stealing a pair of sneakers.  His punishment is a detention camp out in the desert where he has to dig holes.  He said there’s an awesome twist of events that made the story really great.

                I know I’ll always have a smile on my face when I enter a room and see him engaged in his latest read.  My growing bookworm.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 12, 2011 in Reading

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
