RSS

Word!

14 Nov

I am a lover of words. As a child, I would grab my mother’s big blue dictionary from the shelf and randomly turn to a page and read new words or explore definitions I was vaguely familiar with. I’d search for newer adjectives, adverbs, and nouns to fill the blanks of my Mad Lib books. Perhaps that is why I have a pile of greeting cards stuffed in drawers and in boxes in the attic. I keep notes, love letters, and written thoughts hidden away to remind me what someone thought of me or what I thought of someone else. I have journals stacked from when I was a teen and some as an adult. Why am I so obsessed with words?

Many people say there is power in words. I completely agree that there is. Words can build up or tear down. Words can love or hate. Words can ignite people to act, either positively or negatively. Words can heal or hurt. Words can encourage or destroy. What do the words you speak say about you? What do you spout off to others? Are you careful with what you say or do you say whatever comes to mind? How do you speak to those around you? What would someone say about you and the words you use? Would you want to hear what they say?

β€œI know nothing in the world that has as much power as a word. Sometimes I write one, and I look at it, until it begins to shine.” Emily Dickinson

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat it’s fruit.” Proverbs 18:21 NLV

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2012 in Spiritual Reflections, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Word!

  1. Karen Rutherford

    November 14, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Yes, and I love the quote by Rudyard Kipling, “Words are as powerful as drugs”…….. drugs can help, drugs can hurt…. all in how you use them…… I love you my daughter and I, too, have a fascination for words………

     
    • rascallythoughts

      November 14, 2012 at 8:56 pm

      The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. πŸ™‚

       
  2. mskatykins

    November 16, 2012 at 5:42 am

    This is a great post! Have you noticed how limited the vocabulary that people are using has become? Words do have power and can add diversity and new expression to what we’re saying. I hope that our use of language continues to evolve, but in a really positive way. πŸ™‚

     
    • rascallythoughts

      November 18, 2012 at 5:01 pm

      Yes, I have noticed. In fact, I find that I have to define many of the words I use in conversation with people because they don’t understand what the word means.

       
      • mskatykins

        November 21, 2012 at 2:52 am

        Ooh, really? That’s awful! Although, at least you’re doing your bit to save language! πŸ˜‰

        I find it hard to fall out of the habit of using (and misusing!) the word ‘like’… grr! I suppose self awareness, at least, is a good thing!

         
  3. Prodigal Daughter

    December 21, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    There is definitely power in the word and what we confess. And yes being conscious is a good exercise , after all what’s in the heart comes out of the mouth. πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
