RSS

This Bread is so Tasty

16 Mar

B-read“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.”  Matthew 5:6

Since I was asked a few years ago to lead the teens, I have dug into the word more than I ever have in my life.  That’s a sad statement to make, but I’m just being honest. I used to do Bible study more as a religious checkmark on my homework assignment.  So, with that kind of attitude, I didn’t get much out of the word.   But when I begin studying the word and what I want to teach the teens, I find myself digging further and further into the Bible.  I feel like I learn more than I can tell the teens.   I don’t want to stop reading and when I do have to put it down to do life, I can’t wait to open it up again and learn more.  The more you read the word, the hungrier you become.  The more you want to come to the Lord’s table and eat.  Then when you are away from it, you’re thinking about what you’ve studied and it brings life to you to sustain you for the rest of the day.

When I prepare my lessons and teach the teens, I’m often aggravated afterwards  because I forgot to tell them some other points that I learned.  God is showing me that all I can do is tell them what I had for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.  They have to choose to eat or come back for seconds.  To enjoy the word, you often have to dig yourself because that’s when you are most satisfied.  Those are the times that God reveals to you how to deal with whatever you are going through.  Those are the times that you filled.

“Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost.”  Isaiah 55:1


 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “This Bread is so Tasty

  1. aFrankAngle

    March 24, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    The Bible is no different many other topics in life … the more one learns, the more they discover who much they don’t know, thus how much there is to learn. Well said.

     

Leave a Reply

 
