RSS

Promises, Promises

07 Jul

“You have heard that it was said long ago, ‘You must not make a promise you cannot keep. You must carry out your promises to the Lord.’  I tell you, do not use strong words when you make a promise. Do not promise by heaven. It is the place where God is. Do not promise by earth. It is where He rests His feet. Do not promise by Jerusalem. It is the city of the great King.  36 Do not promise by your head. You are not able to make one hair white or black. Let your yes be YES. Let your no be NO. Anything more than this comes from the devil.”  Matthew 5:33-37 NLV

 

Words used to mean something to people.   I remember when I was a kid, I was told not to make promises that I couldn’t keep.  So, I’ve always tried to be cautious of what I would say.  I don’t like to commit to something that I’m not going to follow through with.  Loyalty and commitment seems to be lacking as well.  I guess we live in an age where everything is disposable.  Marriages can be tossed to the wayside if you’re just tired of being with that “true love.”  How many true loves does a person have to go through before you actually find the one that truly is true?  Marriage isn’t easy; it takes two people who are genuinely committed to one another.  My marriage hasn’t been all roses and perfect days.  Life just isn’t that way.  I am blessed enough to have someone that stands by me and will ride the storms of indifference, trials, and life.  Both people have to be committed to the relationship.  Both have to be willing to let go of selfish desires and bend every now and then for the other person.

I find it funny how often people change their “BFF.”  I wonder if they truly know what the acronym means.  People treat relationships the way Baskin Robbins declares, “The Flavor of the Week.”   Friendships become disposable.  If someone is aggravating you too much or doesn’t pay you enough attention, it’s time to trade them in for someone else.

I even see it in the church world.  We treat church like Walmart…..give me the best product at the least cost to me.  Is that even close to what Jesus wants the church to be?  We shop around churches and if they aren’t giving us the deals we want, we find one that will.  Isn’t the church body supposed to be living sacrifices?  Do we even know what a sacrifice is?  Loyalty and commitment is a sacrifice.  Honor and integrity is a sacrifice.  Given up self-agenda is a sacrifice.

I pray that people will start to remember the value of their words.  I pray that people will remember that genuine character is commitment, loyalty, and service.  I pray the church will awaken to the truths of the gospel. 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 7, 2013 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
