RSS

The Heart of Worship

25 Aug

When my son was a toddler, I played Christian praise and worship music in my car while we did everyday tasks.  He got used to hearing certain songs and had several that he really enjoyed hearing.  His favorite song was, “Here I am to worship.”  When it played, I glanced at him in my rear view mirror and would watch him sitting in his car seat lifting his hands and singing as hard as he could along with the song.  It always melted my heart, brought tears to my eyes and a smile upon my face.

This morning I was reminded of that time once again.  My son, who is now twelve, was sitting behind me in church.  At  the end of service and the worship leaders were  singing a worship song.  I heard my son sing along with the music and he was singing with the same strength that he did when he was little.  I smiled and teared up.  I only hope that he will continue to sing praises to God. 

It made me think.  What does God think when we worship him so purely?  I would imagine it would bring him the greatest joy and pleasure.  As an earthly parent, it makes me beam with joy to hear him sing.  What does it do for God to hear us sing to Him with such pleasure?  I know it has to make him smile, it’s music to his ears.  It’s what He longs for.  He wants the transparency of his creation to come and enter into worship.  In the bible, it says that David was a man after God’s heart.  Why? Because he sang praise to His father, he cried out with song.  He was transparent with God.  In his music, he would sing what he felt.  He was honest with his Creator. 

My prayer is that I remember that God wants to hear me sing, he wants to see me raise my hands to Him, and we wants me to be transparent. This is a gift fit for the King.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 25, 2013 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Heart of Worship

  1. Karen Rutherford

    August 25, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    Yes, Alecia……. I, too, have that same scene etched in my memory and it often calls to my heart the same beckoning that you have realized…….. I said to myself today after Pastor’s sermon…. if I love my children and grandchildren soooooooooooooooo much how could I not trust the Father who loves them more………. I so desire to trust my heavenly Father and I want my grandchildren to see Christ in me!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
