RSS

New Year Beginnings

30 Dec

A new year is quickly approaching.  Most of us plan to make new beginnings or the appropriate term would be make new resolutions for the year ahead.  I’ve been thinking about beginnings lately.  I’ve been going reverse and forward in my head trying to reflect on my past and squint ahead at the future.  Each year we look at the beginning of January as a clean slate.  We make promises to change certain habits, get healthier, get closer to God, rebuild relationships, or redevelop our paths in our lives. I’ve promised myself that I need to get healthy again because I feel like I’m not moving enough and I know I’m eating whatever I want.  But even as I type this, I’m thinking about the Reese Cup that is staring at me across the table.  Our clean slates quickly get filled with erase marks and moved beginning dates. 

 Back to the beginning though, it’s a place to start.  It’s the point to learn something new.  At the end of every year, I reflect on what I’ve experienced, seen, lost, and learned.  So with every New Year, I think I should look at it as a time to begin to learn more about my journey.  I should embrace the beginning of each day with alert eyes, ears, hands, and heart to tackle whatever God has for me that day.  I pray that I will be aware of what I’m supposed to do and not miss an opportunity that God has scheduled me for.  I pray that I won’t ignore the whispers of the Holy Spirit just because I’m selfish, proud or afraid. 

When I think of the first beginning, my mind goes to creation.  Genesis is the origin, the coming into being, or the beginning.  In the beginning, God created the Heavens and the Earth. He made light and dark separate to distinguish night from day. He made vegetation to grow and bear seed. He made the creatures that roam the Earth, swim in the seas, and soar in the sky.  He finished His creation with humanity.  He made us in His likeness and wanted blessings for us.  He said these beginnings were good and He rested.  Then He placed man in the garden to tend it but requested that he not eat from the Tree of Knowledge.  He then made woman for man, because He knew that man needed a companion.

 Then if you’ve ever read Genesis, you know that we screw up.  We listen to the Devil and eat what God’s told us not too.  We think we know better than He does.  We think that we have to know everything.  We think we need to control our own lives.  We do as we want and then feel the shame afterwards.  But God is so good that He made a way to erase the slate of sins in our lives.  He loves His creation and if we would just stay in His newness every day we will reap the benefits of His goodness.  Yes, we will slip up and mess up, but find peace in the grace of God knowing that Jesus paid for those slip ups and mess ups and that he offers a renewing beginning each day.  The sun rises and a new day appears, let’s live it the way that He intends for us to.  Let’s tend to what He has given us for each day and we will see His blessings.  If we continue that thought pattern for each day then the days will turn into weeks that will turn into a year filled with God’s goodness. 

               

               

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2013 in Spiritual Reflections

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
