RSS

A Life Marked

02 Mar

Slates of marble

Arranged in deathly order

Stood silently as I pedaled past

Climbing the hill with a steady puff.

 

Reaching the top

I stepped off my bike

Perching myself on a flat monument

That overlooked the sea of souls past.

 

Stillness rested there

A place for my thoughts to dance eerily

Trying to find meaning to this thing called life.

 

Like a bird hidden high upon a branch

I watched the town move

While the cemetery lay solemn. 

 

Life in present, moments in past, and hopes for the future

Swirled in the depths of my mind

As I simultaneously pondered the names that surrounded me.

 

Recent markers were decorated with soft colored blooms

While older ones were overwhelmed with weeds hiding part of the name

Missed or forgotten.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 2, 2014 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
