RSS

In the Good times and Bad

18 Mar

“When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other.  Therefore, a man cannot discover anything about his future.”  Ecclesiastes 7:14

When I read this chapter, this afternoon, this verse popped out the most to me.  The word that jumped out the most was “consider.”  To consider is to think about carefully.  When times are going smooth, we are happy.  We are enjoying the things we have, we aren’t worried, we are living it up, so to speak.  But when times are bad, we begin to think.  Our mood shifts, we feel unstable, we realize we aren’t in control of all aspects of our lives.  We consider what God is trying to teach us in the tough times.  We realize how weak we really are.  We realize how much we should depend on God and not circumstances or ourselves.  If we don’t consider, we usually make bad decisions and then in turn make the situation worse.

I’m the type of person who is always trying to look ahead.  I over plan things in my mind and then when unforeseen speed bumps or obstacles occur, I get frustrated.  I’m trying to control my future.  But the truth is, I can’t control anything.  Instead, I need to learn to consider why things happen.  I need to realize that God knows the future and it’s in His hands.  He has taken care of me in the past and he will take care of me in the now.  I just have to trust Him. 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 18, 2014 in Spiritual Reflections

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “In the Good times and Bad

  1. Mari

    March 18, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Oh, I am the same when it comes to wanting to control my future. I tend to plan everything ahead and make endless lists of things in the order in which I hope to accomplish them only to end up frustrated when things don’t happen as I’d planned. Learning to trust fully on the Lord is something I begin doing again each day.

    Thanks for sharing this, helps me realize I am only being human and that it’s ok to be. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
