RSS

My Constant

11 Aug

I have never been a fan of change. I’m a creature of habit and when things tailspin out of my routine, I get upset and nervous. When I was a kid, I was super anxious prior to school starting because I didn’t know if I’d like my teacher or if I’d have classes with my friends. Stepping into the unknown has always been hard for me. I think most of us, can say that. When I went away to college my freshman year, I was both excited to be away from home and nervous to leave. I wanted to gain some independence from my parents and experience the world for myself. On the way down to college, I got sick. I couldn’t eat, I was scared that I wouldn’t adjust. But, I knew I had to adjust. Deep down I wanted change, I just was unsure of how much that change would cost me. It took about a month to get over being homesick and to adjust to my new surroundings. Once I adjusted, I didn’t want things to change. But, change is inevitable. After 2 1/2 years of being away at college, it was time to come back home. I didn’t want to come back, but I knew I had to. My time there was done. I got just as sick going back home as I did when I left home.

This weekend, our pastor announced a time for change for him. It was time for him to go back home. I know many people are scared of the things they can’t see on the horizon. I understand that, I’m in the same boat. We get attached to people, we don’t want them to leave, we’ve let our guard down and trusted someone. We tell ourselves when someone is leaving that we will never allow someone to get that close again. All of us are subject to attachments, but often separation occurs and we have to adjust. But, there are constants in our life that we have to remind ourselves about.

The bible says “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” (Hebrews 13:8) Jesus is a constant, man is not. We have to remember to trust him. He hasn’t changed. Joshua 1:9 says, “Have I not told you? Be strong and have strength of heart! Do not be afraid or lose faith. For the Lord your God is with you anywhere you go.” God is always with us, he hasn’t left us. Remember that when you are afraid. Ecclesiastes 3 reminds us that there is a time for everything under Heaven. Right now is a time of change, but remember again what is constant. Where is your hope? The future is unknown to us, but step into it because there is a guide to be by yours and my side. Romans 15:13 says “Our hope comes from God. May He fill you with joy and peace because of your trust in Him. May your hope grow stronger by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

It’s ok to be afraid, just tighten your grip on the Lord’s hand. He’s there. He’s constant. father-child-holding-hands-e1327959452859

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 11, 2014 in Spiritual Reflections

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
