RSS

A Journal for Travel Musings

15 Jun

The ability to post my thoughts online for whoever happens to stumble upon my blog is fascinating. But, I have a deep obsession with paper. Sometimes, I just have to see my thoughts mark a tangible medium. One of my favorite sections of a bookstore is the stationery section. I have a vacation coming up, which will be unique to our family. We normally go to one spot and stay for a week, but this year we are going on a road trip. We will be visiting several different states and seeing whatever we happen upon. I made up my mind about a week ago to buy a journal just for me to scribble down my voyage. Yesterday, I went to a Barnes & Noble store and explored the journals. I loved many of the different styles, the Italian leather ones with beautifully embossed designs, the journals with a magnetic clasp, spiral journals with an inspirational cover, and handmade journals made with recycled silk. The latter is the one I chose. It has a rough multicolored cover made with recycled silk. I guess my daily dealings with thread in my work, draws me to that type of material. The paper inside is deckle paper. It is a textured paper made from the Lokta plant in the Himalayas. I am now on a journey to find the perfect pen for this journal. I’m in dire need of this vacation and really hope to fill the pages with what I discover along the way.

loktapaper

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2015 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “A Journal for Travel Musings

  1. Rajiv

    June 16, 2015 at 2:42 am

    I always carry a notebook when I travel. I love it. But, I like the paper of your journal

     
    • rascallythoughts

      June 16, 2015 at 11:34 am

      Thanks, I fell in love with it myself. Blessings to you!

       
  2. jumpyjess

    June 21, 2015 at 4:49 pm

    That paper looks so awesome! 😮

     
  3. Mari

    July 17, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    How exciting! I love the smell of new paper and the possibilities of writing about anything and everything that my heart desires!! I see this is a post from last month so if you are on vacation now, I hope you are enjoying it!!

    Hugs!!

    Mari

     
    • rascallythoughts

      July 21, 2015 at 12:24 pm

      Thanks, Mari!! I did. Back to reality now. LOL. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
